Watch for changes to I-84 exits in central Hood River

31 Aug

As you know, the extensive modifications at Exit 64 are causing significant traffic impacts, including the dangerous backup of traffic in the eastbound off-ramp and merge lane.

Oregon Department of Transportation is about to close off traffic merging between Exit 63 and Exit 64.

After the change, eastbound traffic that wants to reach the bridge or Hwy 35 will leave I-84 at Exit 63, pass through the light and continue into the (former) merge lane to Exit 64.

I asked Mark Baker, consultant with Oregon Bridge Delivery Partners, when the merge lane would close. Here’s answer as of Monday afternoon:

“Stu, it’s a construction job, so I’m afraid dates of that nature are often a bit of a moving target. We’re hoping to turn on the traffic signals this week, then change the traffic flow early next week, but I can’t authoritatively give exact dates right now. I might have more clarity by this time tomorrow and will definitely let you know if I do.”

So, stay tuned. I’ll post updates when I get them, to make sure we all do what we can to avoid an injury — or worse — accident at that interchange. Meanwhile, here’s a clip from the ODOT project website:

** I-84 at milepost 64 (Hood River): The contractor is preparing to shift traffic and demolish the old eastbound bridge. Expect new traffic signals at the freeway ramp junctions beginning Tuesday, Aug. 31. Expect single-lane closures westbound around the clock. The westbound right lane must exit. The speed limit is reduced to 55 mph. Watch for roadside work crews and equipment around the clock. Watch for vehicles entering and exiting the travel lanes. Please drive safely through the work zone.

** Button Bridge Road at I-84: Expect new traffic signals at the freeway ramp junctions beginning Tuesday, Aug. 31. Watch for changing traffic patterns and traffic controlled by flaggers. Watch for roadside work crews and equipment around the clock. Watch for construction vehicles entering and exiting the travel lanes.

One Response to “Watch for changes to I-84 exits in central Hood River”

  1. Greg Colt August 31, 2010 at 1:22 am #

    Yikes!

Comments are closed.

